I think we can call this new rule the 'Because Baylor' rule.

OU, Texas, West Virginia and Texas Tech all played Power 5 conference competition in 2015. In fact, only Kansas State and Baylor did not play a Power 5 opponent in 2015.

In 2013 and 2014, only Baylor did not play a Power 5 non-conference team in football.

That all changes after the existing non-conference contracts run out. It was announced that the Big 12 will require Conference football programs to annually play at least one non-conference game against a power 5 conference school (ACC, Big Ten, Pac-12 and SEC, plus Notre Dame).

"Schedule strength is a key component in CFP Selection Committee deliberations," said Big 12 Commissioner Bob Bowlsby. "This move will strengthen the resumes for all Big 12 teams. Coupled with the nine-game full round robin Conference schedule our teams play, it will not only benefit the teams at the top of our standings each season, but will impact the overall strength of the Conference."

The agreement also states that a Big 12 team cannot play more than one team that is not in the FBS.

Texas Tech's 2016 schedule is, in my opinion, the best way to schedule games: One FCS game (Stephen F. Austin), one non-power 5 FBS team (Louisiana Tech) and one power 5 team (Arizona State).

[via ESPN]