Awesome 98 logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

According to the Lubbock Police Department’s crime statistics for 2020, there have been over 486 reported instances of assault in Lubbock and over 191 reported burglary events, which means you might want to take advantage of South Plains College’s License to Carry class.

SPC’s License to Carry class costs $75 per student, but that doesn't include the $40 fee for the fingerprint and background checks required by the Texas Department of Public Safety and the FBI.

The 4-to-6 hour class will cover firearm safety, use of force, laws pertaining to concealed or open carry, and how to handle contacts with law enforcement, among other important topics.

The LTC class will also include shooting range training, but students will need to bring their own revolver or semi-automatic pistol and at least 50 rounds of ammunition.

According to a press release, the LTC class is not designed to teach students how to shoot. Thus, inexperienced shooters will be required to take a basic pistol course before being allowed to take the LTC course.

Teaching the class will be certified instructor of Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice at SPC, Mark White. He has over 20 years of experience as a firearms instructor at various levels of law enforcement. In adherence of law, a commissioned Texas Peace Office will also be present.

Space will be limited to just 10 students, and those interested must register and pay in advance for the class. The LTC course will begin at 8 a.m. on Saturday, Oct. 17th, 2020 in Room 109C of the Law Enforcement Technology building on the SPC campus in Levelland, Texas.

To register for the class online, visit the following link.

KEEP READING: These are the top 6 scams connected to the pandemic


More From Awesome 98