Texas Tech has a very good baseball team. That team has very good players.

Eric Gutierrez is now nationally recognized as a very good player. Previously earning Big 12 player of the year, Gutierrez has now been named to the first-team All-American unit put together by Baseball America.

Gutierrez, who has batted 6th for most of the season, is in the midst of one of the best offensive seasons of his career as he is hitting .330 overall to go along with 12 home runs and 53 RBI.

Gutierrez joins the likes Ryan Nye (1994), Jason Totman (1995), Clint Bryant (1995-96), Matt Kastelic (1996), Keith Ginter (1997), Joe Dillon (1997), Josh Bard (1998-99) and Brady (2004) as Red Raider hitters who have earned first team All-American honors.

This is the second All-America accolade for Gutierrez over the past week as he previously garnered second-team honors last Thursday from Collegiate Baseball.

Ashley Wirz, 1340TheFan.com

Gutierrez currently ranks among the Big 12 leaders in home runs (12), runs scored (51), RBI (53), total bases (125), walks (38), on-base percentage (.460) and slugging percentage (.590).

Not only is he having a stellar season, Gutierrez is capping off an incredible legacy he's leaving behind at Texas Tech. He ranks in the schools top five in almost all of the offensive categories in the record books and has started in all 238 of his career games, two shy of Clint Bryants school record.

Not only does Gutierrez apply pressure on opposing teams from the plate, he is also a dynamo on defense sporting a sharp glove at 1st base and the team leadership to boost the Texas Tech fielding percentage to a .974.

Gutierrez and the Red Raiders continue their postseason run, and his personal onslaught of the record books, this weekend with the NCAA Lubbock Super Regional against East Carolina. The series begins with a 7 p.m. first pitch Friday evening inside Dan Law Field at Rip Griffin Park.

Doug Ault – 1972 (ABCA)
Ryan Nye – 1994 (ABCA/NCBWA/USA Today)
Jason Totman – 1995 (ABCA/Collegiate Baseball/NCBWA)
Clint Bryant – 1995 (Collegiate Baseball/NCBWA/Baseball America)
Clint Bryant – 1996 (ABCA/NCBWA)
Matt Kastelic – 1996 (Baseball America)
Jason Gooding – 1997 (ABCA/Collegiate Baseball/NCBWA)
Keith Ginter – 1997 (ABCA/Collegiate Baseball/NCBWA/Sporting News)
Joe Dillon – 1997 (NCBWA/Sporting News)
Shane Wright – 1998 (ABCA/Collegiate Baseball/NCBWA)
Josh Bard – 1998 (ABCA)
Josh Bard – 1999 (ABCA/NCBWA/Baseball America)
Josh Brady – 2004 (ABCA)
Eric Gutierrez – 2016 (Baseball America)

Source: texastech.com