The final list of inductees will be announced later this year and the official ceremony is set for April 14th in Cleveland, the home of the Rock Hall.

This year's list includes: The Beastie Boys, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Donna Summer, Laura Nyro, Donovan and War. All of them were nominated in previous years, but didn't make the cut.

The list of first-time nominees includes: Guns N' Roses, Joan Jett and the Blackhearts, Heart, Rufus with Chaka Khan, the Cure, the Small Faces / the Faces, the Spinners, blues singer Freddie King, and rap duo Eric B. & Rakim.

Some of those artists have been eligible before, but just never made the ballot. However, this was the first year of eligibility for Guns N' Roses and Eric B. & Rakim.

Other artists that became eligible this year but did NOT get on the ballot include: Soundgarden, the Jayhawks, the Lemonheads, They Might Be Giants, Matthew Sweet, Babyface, Lyle Lovett, Yo La Tengo, and tragically New Kids on the Block and Yanni! (You can find a full, unofficial list, here.)

Some of the other "snubs" who were eligible before this year include: Bon Jovi, Boston, the Cars, J. Geils Band, Rush, Yes, KISS, Judas Priest, Iron Maiden, the Smiths, Sonic Youth, Joy Division, MC5, Depeche Mode, Jethro Tull, Journey, Deep Purple, Motorhead, Blue Oyster Cult, Electric Light Orchestra, Pantera, Motley Crue, Ozzy Osbourne (solo), the New York Dolls, the Jesus and Mary Chain, Roxy Music, and Hall & Oates.

And many, many more. You can browse the unofficial list of all the eligible artists, along with the years they became eligible, here.

To be eligible for induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, an act has to have released its first recorded output at least 25 years prior to the year in which it was nominated.

That means anyone nominated now, in 2011, has to have released something in 1986 or earlier. But remember, the people from this list who make it into the Rock Hall will be the Class of 2012.

For more information on this year's nominees, visit